Delta Upsilon Omega Chapter

Jai-Anana  Elliott, Chapter President  

 Ida L. Jackson brought the presence of Alpha Kappa Alpha to the American West Coast in 1921, chartering Rho Chapter at the University of California Berkley. On August 1, 1933, Beta Theta Chapter was chartered in Seattle, Washington at the Tacoma, Washington home of Sadie McIver. Beta Theta consisted of both undergraduate and graduate members.

By 1948, there were enough members in Beta Theta Chapter to form a second chapter, which would be named Delta Upsilon Omega – the first graduate chapter in Washington State.

Delta Upsilon Omega’s Charter Members are: Ruth Marie Brown, Ruth Beck Davis, Geraldine Coston, Georgia Gill, Theresa Hailey, Mildred McIver, Merry Newton Cole, Helen Beck Stafford, Doris Wilson, Elvie Watts, Irene Woods, Freddie Braxton, & Thelma DeWitty.

Delta Upsilon Omega Executive Board


President: Jai-Anana Elliott

Vice President: Monica  Brown

Recording Secretary: Brittney Pettway

Assistant Recording Secretary: Jennifer Williams

Financial Secretary: Keysha Ross

Corresponding Secretary: Sonya Sanders

Treasurer: Ayanna Colman

Public Relations Chairman: Jessica Stocks

Membership Chairman: Ada Hardy

Parliamentarian: Phyllis Scott-Lowe

Hostess: Terri Adams-Kincaid

Chaplain: Gennifer White

Graduate Advisor: Monica Brown

Assistant Graduate Advisor: Leslie Lawson-Sims

Historian: Millicent Borishade

Sergeant at Arms: Ada Hardy